Ta kontakt med oss

SÖKMOTORER

Google September Core Update & Produktrecensioner Uppdatering Båda slutförda den 26 september

Publicerad

Google September Core Update & Product Reviews Update Both Completed On September 26th

As I called, Google has completed rolling out both the September 2022 core update and the September 2022 product reviews update while I was offline. Both officially finished rolling out on September 26, 2022 – so Monday.

Here are some quick facts on both these updates, now that they are done. But as you know, the core update took exactly two weeks to roll out, a full 14 days. The product reviews update took only six days to roll out.

Google September 2022 Core Update

  • Name: Google September 2022 Broad Core Update
  • Launched: September 12, 2022 at around 11:25 pm ET
  • Rollout: Two weeks – completing on September 26, 2022
  • Targets: It looks at all types of content
  • Penalty: It is not a penalty, it promotes or rewards great web pages
  • Global: This is a global update impacting all regions, in all languages.
  • Impact: Google would not tell me what percentage of queries or searches were impacted by this update but so far, this seems to be a typical core update that reaches wide and the impact is fast.
  • Discover: Core updates impact Google Discover and other features, also feature snippets and more.
  • Recover: If you were hit by this, then you will need to look at your content and see if you can do better with Google’s core update advice.
  • Refreshes: Google will do periodic refreshes to this algorithm but may not communicate those updates in the future. Maybe this is what we saw the past couple of weeks or all those unconfirmed Google updates.

Google September 2022 Product Reviews Update

  • Name: Google September 2022 Product Reviews Update
  • Launched: September 20, 2022 at around 4 am ET
  • Rollout: Six days – completing on September 26, 2022
  • Targets: It looks at product review content
  • Penalty: It is not a penalty, it promotes or rewards “insightful analysis and original research.”
  • Not a core update: Many are going to say this is a core update, it is not.
  • English Language but will expand: This is only looking at English-language content right now but likely will expand to other languages, this is a global launch. I am surprised it is still only English but it is, as we documented below.
  • Impact: Google would not tell me what percentage of queries or searches were impacted by this update.
  • Discover: This update can impact your performance in Google Discover, Google previously said.
  • Recover: If you were hit by this, then you will need to look at your content and see if you can do better with Google’s advice below
  • Refreshes: Google will do periodic refreshes to this algorithm but may not communicate those updates in the future. This may be the first refresh that Google has done, it is the first refresh Google communicated about.

Both updates were fairly large and had big impacts for many many sites. Which one impacted which, despite what Google said, can be hard to pin point.

I have a bit more on the core update impact here and the product reviews impact here.

SEO Chatter

Glenn Gabe, as do others, thinks the product reviews update, was a bit (maybe a simplification) of a correction on the fourth product reviews update. Meaning, they fixed some flaws with the fourth product reviews update with the last one, the fifth product reviews update. Here are some tweets from Glenn:

There was definitely a spike in chatter in the SEO community over the weekend, here is some of that chatter from WebmasterWorld:

All of my sites are down around 25%.

How have ALL of them fallen basically the exact same percentage? Whatever this update is, it’s the worst one yet for me.

For whatever reason I’m off the cliff edge today, after 13 hours I am at 13% of my 1-24 Sept average!

My first thought was the site was down or had been down, nope, we’ll see what the rest of the day brings.

In the past few days, I’ve been seeing a rise in sites like TripAdvisor and TripSavvy, which are the travel information sector’s equivalent of big box stores. I see that as an erosion of subject authority as a ranking factor.

The ranking difference isn’t huge, but when you’ve been ranking at or near the top of the SERP for a bunch of important searches, a drop from the first position to the second–or from the second position to the third–can have a significant impact on Google traffic (especially if an answer box or a list of questions has been inserted after the first result).

25 year old site, medium-large, well established, first mover in our niche back in mid 90s, 20,000+ referring domains backlinking to us. Not a major brand.

The second the core update started running on the 13th we started dropping like a rock. Down 20% sitewide now, and continuing to drop. We were clearly hit by some invisible sitewide penalty, as EVERY SERP listing dropped for us by at least a spot, in many case many spots. We do not use any black hat SEO, keyword manipulation, unhelpful content, etc. We trimmed out our thin pages to improve quality indexing significantly over a year ago, and updated a good chunk of our content…

For my first 13 hours on Sunday I was almost flatlining and then traffic kicked-in resulting with an almost average Sunday plus the traffic has continued into today so far.

While my sites are all still down, today’s numbers look more like -5-10% down from the norm instead of the -25% I was seeing earlier.

Seeing our site tumbling over the same visibility chart cliff as a very friendly to google cable news network’s website does add some amusement to the situation…

20 year old site here. Aug update hit us slightly, but this update has been a major hit as well (though we have been on a slow slide this past year). Down another 20% it seems…

There is a bit of chatter into today with SEOs saying they are still seeing volatility.

Tracking Tools On September 2022 Core & Product Reviews Update

Here is what those tracking tools looked like over the past two weeks or more:

Semrush:

click for full size

Accuranker:

click for full size

Advanced Web Rankings:

click for full size
Mozcast:

click for full size

SERPmetrics:

click for full size

RankRanger:

click for full size

Algoroo:

click for full size

Cognitive SEO:

click for full size

SERPwoo:

click for full size

SERP Stat:

click for full size

Sorry for being offline when the update finished, I am still catching up. I do hope you all did well with these two updates.

Forumdiskussion kl WebmasterWorld.



Källa: www.seroundtable.com

Klicka för att kommentera

Lämna ett svar

Din e-postadress kommer inte publiceras. Obligatoriska fält är märkta *

SÖKMOTORER

Google Search Testing More Card Box Like Buttons In Search

Publicerad

Google Wood Texture

Google is testing more card and box-like elements in the search results. We covered this with the product results interface a few weeks back but now we are seeing them for other elements.

Here are screenshots shared with me of these designs:

Via @b4k_khushal:

Google Box Card Search Element Recipe

Via @mblumenthal via @b4k_khushal:

Google Box Card Search Element Products

I kind of like them but I might be wrong. 🙂

Forumdiskussion kl Twitter.



Källlänk

Fortsätt läsa

SÖKMOTORER

Microsoft Bing Search Features & Tests

Publicerad

Bing Magnifying Glass

Here is another batch of Microsoft Bing Search tests and features that were caught out in the wild that I wanted to share with you. They include sorting, filtering, carousels, animations, related content and maybe even some bugs?

(1) Sorting results by more parameters:

(2) Related videos under the video results:

(3) Dynamic and animated carousel information box of sorts, life cycle feature:

(4) See this location:

(5) I am not sure what this is about:

(6) Left side product refinement filters:

(7) Want more deals feature:

(8) “Top Headlines” in Bing at the sitelink on the desktop search:

(9) Bing is testing a different style for sitelinks on their – via Frank Sandtmann on Mastodon:

click for full size

(10) Interesting character image on that search bar when you try to use a different search engine. I am not sure if it is new:


This is in addition to the other items we recently posted about Bing.

Forum discussion at Twitter threads above.



Källlänk

Fortsätt läsa

SÖKMOTORER

The Return Of Yahoo Search

Publicerad

Yahoo Search

Last week I reported that Yahoo Search posted on Twitter that it will be making search cool again. As I posted on Search Engine Land yesterday, we got more evidence that Yahoo is really moving forward with improving its search service.

Last night, Jim Lanzone, the CEO of Yahoo (more about him below), responded to Greg Sterling and myself about Yahoo getting into search:

So yes, we got that tweet that I covered last week, followed by a number of other tweets:

But we got a lot more – we have a job listing for a Principal Product Manager, Yahoo Search. The job listing says, “We’re looking for a Product Manager for Search at Yahoo. We are looking for folks that are interested in pushing beyond the status quo to change the way folks interact and use search.”

Jim Lanzone, who was the CEO of Ask.com and worked for several years for Ask.com (previously Ask Jeeves), who is now the CEO at Yahoo. He is a search guy, originally, and I do suspect he will want to do big things again with search. Under Jim, Ask released some incredibly innovative features, like Ask 3D – which Google kind of ripped off with its Universal Search – as some say… So I think, Yahoo Search, under Jim Lanzone might be an interesting Yahoo Search to look at.

As I also said on Search Engine Land, Brian Provost, SVP & GM, Yahoo posted on LinkedIn about this job listing and wrote, “There’s going to be so much innovation in Search in the coming years and there aren’t many places where you can immediately have an impact this big. Would love to hear from you if you have a passion for Search and building product experiences.”

This is exciting – I suspect it will take a year or so to see anything – but I am looking forward to it.

Forumdiskussion kl WebmasterWorld.



Källlänk

Fortsätt läsa

Trendigt

sv_SESvenska